VTR Open

  • dgec
  • 09 July 2013
  • 11:07

The Chile Open (sponsored by VTR) is a professional tennis tournament played on outdoor red clay courts in Viña del Mar, Chile. It is currently part of the ATP World Tour 250 series of the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) World Tour and the opening leg of the four-tournament Golden Swing.


In 1992, Brazil suspended its three ATP tournaments. When the ATP resolved to keep these tournaments in Latin America, the Fillol brothers decided to buy the organizing rights to hold one of these events in Chile. The first edition was held in Santiago in November 1993. In 1999, it was not held, due to the ATP's decision to reschedule the event to February 2000. In 2001, the tournament was moved to Viña del Mar. The event moved back to Santiago in 2010, eventually returning to Viña del Mar in 2012.

For the 2007 edition, the tournament switched to a 24-player round robin format. After problems with this format were discovered in other tournaments, the ATP decided to revert all round robin events to the old play-off format. Thus, from the year 2008, the tournament was back to its old 32-player draw scheme.

Many top-ten players have participated in this tournament, including: Mats Wilander, Jim Courier, Jiří Novák, Marcelo Ríos, Carlos Moyà, Gustavo Kuerten, Àlex Corretja, Tommy Haas, Magnus Norman, Sergi Bruguera, Guillermo Coria, David Nalbandian, Gastón Gaudio, Fernando González, Tommy Robredo, Nicolás Lapentti, Álbert Costa, Alberto Berasategui, Emilio Sánchez, Guillermo Cañas, Mariano Puerta, Nicolás Massú, David Ferrer, Fernando Verdasco, Juan Mónaco, Rafael Nadal, and Félix Mantilla.