SAP Open

  • dgec
  • 09 July 2013
  • 11:07

The SAP Open is an annual men's tennis tournament. It was the second-oldest ongoing tennis tournament in the United States as of 2013; its 2013 edition was scheduled to be its last in San Jose, California.[1] It is an ATP World Tour 250 series event on theAssociation of Tennis Professionals tour. It is played indoors on a hard surface at the HP Pavilion at San Jose.


The SAP Open began in 1889 as the Pacific Coast Championships at the Old Del Monte Lodge in Monterey, California. It is the second-oldest tennis tournament in the United States, second only to a predecessor tournaments to the modern US Open. The tournament predates the Australian Open and the French Open. It was held at the Berkeley Tennis Club in Berkeley for a number of years and at what is now the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium in San Francisco. The tournament came to San Jose in 1994, shortly after the HP Pavilion was built.

Before tennis' open era, the tournament had both men's and women's events. During World War II, it had special servicemen competitions.

Earlier title sponspors include Redwood Bank, Fireman's Fund, Transamerica, Volvo, and Comerica. More recently, it was the Sybase Open from 1994 through 2001 and the Siebel Open from 2002 through 2004. The tournament has been known as the SAP Open since 2005.

The tournament was until 2013 owned by Silicon Valley Sports and Entertainment who bought half of it from Barry MacKay when the tournament moved to San Jose and the other half in 1995. SVS&E also owns the San Jose Sharks. MacKay ran the tournament from 1970 until then.

The 2013 event was the last held in the Bay Area. Future tournaments will be held in Rio de Janeiro. After McKay sold the venue, the SAP Open was downgraded to an ATP 250-level event with fewer highly ranked players entering. The highest ranked player for the 2013 SAP Open was Milos Raonic, ranked 13th.

Multiple winners

Singles tournament

Men who have won the single's tournament more than once are: William H. Taylor, Samuel Hardy, Sumner Hardy, George F. Whitney, Melville H. Long, Maurice McLoughlin,George C. Janes, William Johnston, Fred Perry, Don Budge, Robert Riggs, Ted Schroeder, Barry MacKay, Stan Smith, Arthur Ashe, John McEnroe, Michael Chang, Andre Agassi,Pete Sampras, Mark Philippoussis, Andy Roddick, Andy Murray, and Milos Raonic.

Women who have won the single's tournament more than once are: Helen Wills Moody, Helen Jacobs, Edith Cross, Alice Marble, Margaret Osborne duPont, Dorothy Head Knode,Darlene Hard, and Margaret Court.

William Johnston has the most singles tournament wins with ten victories.

Overall winners

The players who have won the most combined singles, doubles and mixed doubles titles in this tournament are:

John McEnroe – 12

William Johnston – 10

Don Budge – 9

Helen Wills Moody – 9

Peter Fleming – 7 (all in doubles)