Qatar Total Open

  • ontennis
  • 24 February 2016
  • 02:02

While the ATP first staged a tournament in Qatar in 1993, the Qatar Tennis Federation did not launch what is now known as the Qatar Total Open in Doha in 2001 as the popularity of women's sports was starting to take off in the country. Doha's ultra-modern Khalifa International Tennis Complex also hosted the season-ending WTA Championships from 2008 to 2010.

Qatar Total Open champions include WTA greats such as Justine Henin, Martina Hingis and Monica Seles, as well as two-time winners Victoria Azarenka, Anastasia Myskina and Maria Sharapova.

The capital of Qatar, Doha is the country's cultural, commercial and financial center.