Open de Nice Côte d’Azur

  • dgec
  • 12 July 2013
  • 03:07

The ATP Nice Open (or Open de Nice Côte d'Azur in French) is an ATP World Tour 250 series and, formerly, Grand Prix tennis circuitaffiliated men's tennis tournament. It is held in Nice, France at the Nice Lawn Tennis Club and played on outdoor clay courts. The current singles champion is Richard Gasquet from France.

Originally part of the Grand Prix tennis circuit between 1970 and 1989. The event was played under various names from 1971 through 1995 and then again starting in 2010. The tournament was known as the Phillips Open from 1990 until 1995.

Ilie Năstase, Björn Borg, and Henri Leconte have each won the singles title twice.

In November 2009, the Association of Tennis Professionals announced that Nice, France would be the location of a new World Tour 250 series tournament, replacing the Interwetten Austrian Open in Kitzbühel, Austria.

The men's tournament will take place, annually, from the May 17 to 22, just one week before the French Open, replacing Kitzbühel's spot on the ATP calendar.