Open 13 Provence

  • ontennis
  • 25 February 2016
  • 02:02

The Open 13 is an annual men's tennis tournament played in Marseille, France. The tournament is an ATP World Tour 250 series event on the Association of Tennis Professionals tour. It is held for one week in February. The number 13 is the INSEE code of the Bouches-du-Rhône département of which Marseille is the capital.

The tournament is played on indoor hard courts at the Palais des sports de Marseille. The Centre Court has a capacity of 5800 seats.

Former ATP player Jean-Francois Caujolle was a driving force in bringing a tour-level event to his hometown, and since the inaugural event in 1993, six Frenchmen have lifted the Marseille trophy – Guy Forget-1996; Fabrice Santoro-1999; Arnaud Clement-2006; Gilles Simon-2007, '15; Jo-Wilfried Tsonga-2009, '13 and Michael Llodra-2011.


The event was first held in 1993. It was the project of ex-professional tennis player and native of Marseille Jean-François Caujolle, who remains tournament director to this day.

The Swiss player Marc Rosset won the singles title at the first two editions of the event in 1993 and 1994. He also won it for a 3rd time in 2000. Together with the Swede Thomas Enqvist, who won 1997, 1998 and 2002, they are the only players to win the title 3 times.