Monte-Carlo Rolex Masters

  • dgec
  • 12 July 2013
  • 03:07

The Monte-Carlo Masters is an annual tennis tournament for male professional players held in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France,[1] acommune that borders on Monaco. The event is part of the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 on the Association of Tennis Professionals(ATP) Tour. The tournament is played on clay courts and is held every year in the April–May period.

The Monte Carlo tennis championship was first held in 1897. It became an "Open" event in 1969. Between 1970 and 1989 it was a major tournament of the Grand Prix Tour as part of the Grand Prix Championship Series top tier events, before becoming an ATPChampionship Series Single Week tennis event.

Beginning in 2009, Monte Carlo became the only ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament not to have a mandatory player commitment. Most of the top players still elect to play the event.

Rafael Nadal won the title 8 consecutive times between 2005 and 2012, making him the only player in the open era to win 8 consecutive titles at the same tournament. His 8 consecutive titles were stopped by Novak Djoković in 2013.