Hungarian Grand Prix

  • dgec
  • 22 July 2013
  • 09:07

The Hungarian Grand Prix, first played in 1996, is one of several outdoor stops during the WTA's post-Wimbledon European red clay court swing. It is played at the Romai Tennis Academy, the most renowned tennis facility in Hungary, in the country's largest city and capital - Budapest.

Agnes Szavay became the first Hungarian to take the title in Budapest in 2009 and then delighted the locals again by repeating in 2010. "It's unbelievable to win in Hungary again," she said. "The crowd was great, just like last year. To win two times at home, I can't describe this feeling."

The only other player with multiple triumphs in Budapest is Israel's Anna Smashnova, who was victorious in 2005 and 2006. Other past champions include former World No.1 Jelena Jankovic.