Brisbane International

  • ontennis
  • 29 December 2015
  • 10:12

Staged the first week of the year during the lead-up to the Australian Open, the Brisbane International has had quite an increase in status since its debut as a combined ATP-WTA tournament in 2009. It went from International to Premier level in 2012, with prize money for the women increasing from $220,000 to $655,000. Then in 2013 the purse went all the way up to $1 million.

The capital and most populous city in the Australian state of Queensland, Brisbane is classified as a global city. It has hosted several international sporting extravaganzas, including the 1982 Commonwealth Games, the 2001 Goodwill Games and the 2008 Rugby League World Cup final.

Past finals

In the men's singles, Lleyton Hewitt (1998, 2000, 2014) holds the record for most titles with three. Mike Bauer (1982–83), Mark Woodforde (1988–89), Nicklas Kulti (1991, 1993), Yevgeny Kafelnikov (1994, 1996) and Andy Murray (2012–13) each have two titles. Bauer, Woodforde and Murray co-hold the record for most consecutive titles. Hewitt alone holds the record for most finals with four (1998–2000, 2014). One year on from finishing runner-up in 2014, Roger Federer claimed the 2015 title and his 1000th match win.

In the women's singles, Ai Sugiyama (1998, 2004), Patty Schnyder (1999, 2005), and Serena Williams (2013, 2014) share the record for most titles with two. Sugiyama also shares the record for most finals appearances (1997–98, 2004) with Victoria Azarenka (2008-09, 2014). Maria Sharapova beat Ana Ivanovic in Brisbane final (2015).