Brasil Open

  • ontennis
  • 25 February 2016
  • 11:02

The Brasil Open is a tennis tournament held annually in São Paulo, Brazil. A part of the ATP World Tour 250 series, it is one of the main events in the Brazilian tennis calendar. Since 2004, it has been a part of the South American clay court circuit but was held on hard courts prior to 2004.

The women's WTA tournament began in 1999. The WTA Brasil Open lasted only until 2002. In 2013, a new edition took place in Florianópolis.

In 1991, ATP organised a tennis tournament in Sao Paulo for the first time. The tournament was the successor of the ATP tournament of Itaparica and was also known by the name Banespa Open. In 1993, it had its latest edition.

Since 2001, the tournament was held 2000 kilometers to the north in Costa do Sauipe, a beach resort north of Salvador da Bahia. Two years ago,in 2012 the ATP Brasil Open moved back to Sao Paulo .This edition was won by Spaniard Nicolás Almagro who defeated Filippo Volandri from Italy by 6-3, 4-6, 6-4. Almagaro also cried victory in 2011 and 2008. Last year, the Brasil Open was won by Rafael Nadal, who played his first tournament after a 7 months knee injury. The then number 4 player of the ATP list was however the main attraction of the Brasil Open 2013. In the final, David Nalbandian from Argentina was defeated by Nadal by 6-2 and 6-3.

Nadal loves to play in Brazil and has won also the Brasil Open in 2004. Among other past winners are Tommy Robredo, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Sjeng Schalken and Brazil's own Gustavo Kuerten.