Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell

  • dgec
  • 12 July 2013
  • 03:07

The Barcelona Open (currently sponsored by Banco Sabadell) also known as Torneo Godó, Trofeo Conde de Godó, Open Banco Sabadell, is an annual tennis tournament for male professional players. The event has been held annually in Barcelona, Spain since 1953, and is played on clay courts at the Real Club de Tenis Barcelona. Originally an event of the Grand Prix tennis circuit between (1970–1989). The tournament is part of the 500 series on the ATP World Tour. Rafael Nadal has won the singles title a record eight times.

It is Spain's second most important tournament on the ATP tour after the Madrid Open and the event generally takes place in the last week of April, when temperatures in Barcelona average a daily high of 18°C.