Bank of the West Classic

  • dgec
  • 22 July 2013
  • 10:07

Launched in San Francisco in 1971 and moving to Oakland in 1979, the longest-running women's-only event settled in its current home of Stanford University at the Taube Family Tennis Center in 1997. Bank of the West has been the title sponsor since 1992, showcasing a strong commitment to tennis.

Stanford serves as the first tournament of the Emirates Airline US Open Series, the North American summer hardcourt schedule that begins after Wimbledon and leads up to the US Open.

Martina Navratilova has the event record with five titles. Other winners include four-time champ Kim Clijsters, three-time champs Lindsay Davenport, Chris Evert and Billie Jean King, and Margaret Court, Martina Hingis, Hana Mandlikova, Arantxa Sánchez-Vicario, Monica Seles, Serena Williams and Venus Williams. Davenport has the most doubles titles with six - each of them coming with different partners.