Australian Open

  • ontennis
  • 31 December 2015
  • 01:12

The best male and female tennis players battle through blistering temperatures in the hopes of getting their hands on the coveted trophy at the first Grand Slam of the season, the Australian Open.

Launching in 1905, the Australian Open has been staged in seven cities throughout Australia and New Zealand. It moved to its present home of what is now known as Melbourne Park in 1988, with the tournament also switching from a grass to hardcourt surface. The state-of-the-art facility features two courts with retractable roofs - Rod Laver Arena and Hisense Arena. The Australian Open has been held on a variety of dates, settling into its current mid-January place on the calendar in 1987.

Often referred to as the "Garden City" and "cultural capital of Australia", Melbourne is the capital and most populous city in the state of Victoria, and the second-most populous city in Australia.

List of Australian Open women's singles champions

The women's singles was first contested in 1922 along with the women's and mixed doubles competition as the last three events to be added. The Australian Open is played during two weeks mid-January, and has been chronologically the first of the four Grand Slam tournaments of the tennis season since 1987. The event was not held from 1940 to 1945 because of World War II, and 1986 because Tennis Australia wanted to move the tournament start from mid-December 1986 to mid-January 1987.Margaret Court holds the all-time record for singles titles at this tournament with 11; 7 in the Amateur Era and 4 in the Open Era. Serena Williams holds the Open Era record with 6 singles titles.

List of Australian Open men's singles champions

James Anderson holds the records for most titles with three (1922, 1924–1925), and the most consecutive titles with two (1924–1925). In the Australian Championships, Roy Emerson holds the records for most titles with six (1961, 1963–1967) and most consecutive titles with five (1963–1967).The inclusion of professional tennis players in 1969 marked the competition's entry into the Open Era, in which Novak Djokovic holds the records for most titles with five (2008, 2011–2013, 2015), Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008), Marcos Baghdatis (2006), Rainer Schuettler (2003) and Arnaud Clement (2001) among the surprise finalists. In 2014, Stanislas Wawrinka defeated Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal to win his first Grand Slam title. The Open Era record for most consecutive titles is three by Djokovic (2011–2013).This event was won without losing a set during the Open Era by Rosewall in 1971 and Federer in 2007.