ASB Classic

  • ontennis
  • 31 December 2015
  • 12:12

The formation of what now is known as the ASB Classic occurred when Ari Hallenberg and Global Sports saw a hole in the marketplace and asked Tennis New Zealand about creating an event in Auckland.

The first staging was held in 1985 as part of the 1986 tour and it moved to its current pre-Australian Open spot on the calendar, New Zealand's lone stop, in 1996. It was named the WTA's Tournament Of The Year/APAC in 2014.

Champs at the tournament - staged at the ASB Tennis Arena - include Marion Bartoli, Lindsay Davenport, Elena Dementieva, Jelena Jankovic, Agnieszka Radwanska, Ana Ivanovic and Venus Williams. David Ferrer went on to reach the Melbourne semi-finals in 2011 and '13, after winning two of his four Auckland titles. John Isner won the 2014 trophy, Jiří Veselý (2015).

Auckland, also known as the City of Sails, features black sand beaches, endless water activities and fantastic dining options. It is the largest and most populous urban region in New Zealand.