ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament

  • dgec
  • 09 July 2013
  • 11:07

The Rotterdam Open (sponsored by ABN AMRO and currently called the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament) is a professionaltennis tournament played on indoor hard courts. It is currently part of the 500 series of the ATP Tour. It has been held annually at the Ahoy Rotterdam in Rotterdam, Netherlands.


The first Rotterdam Open tennis tournament was held in 1972 and was won by Arthur Ashe. The following year the tournament was not organized. Originally the Rotterdam Open was an event of the WCT circuit and afterward became part of the Grand Prix tennis circuit. Since 1990 it is part of the ATP Tour.

In 1984 the singles final between Ivan Lendl and Jimmy Connors was interrupted in the 2nd set (6–0, 1–0) due to a bomb alarm and the match was not finished as Lendl was not prepared to play on.

Since 2004, former Dutch tennis player Richard Krajicek has been the tournament director.

A record 115,894 people attented the 2012 edition tournament.

Past finals

In the singles, Arthur Ashe (1972, 1975–76) holds the record for most titles with three, and co-holds with Stefan Edberg (1986–87), Nicolas Escudé (2001–02) and Robin Söderling(2010–11) the record for most consecutive titles with two. In the doubles, four-time winners Anders Järryd (1987, 1991, 1993, 1995) and Nenad Zimonjić (2009–10, 2012–13) co-hold the record for most titles, while Frew McMillan, with three straight wins (1974–76), holds the record for most back-to-back titles.