Abierto Mexicano Telcel

  • dgec
  • 10 July 2013
  • 12:07

The Mexican Open (also known as the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presented by HSBC for sponsorship reasons) is a joint professionaltennis tournament played on outdoor red clay courts, and held annually in late February at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess inAcapulco, Mexico. The Mexican Open is part of the ATP World Tour 500 series on the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) World Tour, and of the WTA International tournaments on the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) Tour. The 2013 edition took place from 25 February to 2 March 2013.[1][2]

The tournament was introduced on the ATP Tour in 1993, and began on the WTA Tour in 2001. It was held in Mexico City from 1993 to 1998, and once more in 2000, before being relocated to Acapulco in 2001. It's the closing leg of the four-ATP tournament Golden Swing. Starting in 2014, the Mexican Open's surface will change from clay to hard courts, serving as a lead-up to the first ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event of the season in Indian Wells, United States.

Past finals

In the men's singles, Thomas Muster (1993–1996) holds the records for most overall and back-to-back titles (four). On the women's side, Amanda Coetzer (2001, 2003), Flavia Pennetta (2005, 2008), Venus Williams (2009–10) and Sara Errani (2012–13) co-hold the record for most singles titles (two), Williams and Errani being the only players to score two straight wins in Mexico. In the men's doubles, Donald Johnson (1996, 2000–01) has won the most titles (three), and co-holds with Michal Mertiňák (2008–09) and David Marrero (2012–13) the record for most back-to-back titles (two). In the women's doubles, María José Martínez Sánchez (2001, 2008–09) is the one holding the most titles (three) and shares with Nuria Llagostera Vives (2008–09) the record for most consecutive wins (two).