Abierto Mexicano TELCEL

  • ontennis
  • 24 February 2016
  • 03:02

First held as a men's-only tournament in 1993, the Abierto Mexicano TELCEL became a mixed event by welcoming the WTA in 2001. It is hugely popular among the players, as they have voted it the WTA's International Tournament Of The Year seven times and the WTA's Tournament Of The Year/Americas in 2014.

Four players share the tournament lead with two titles apiece - Amanda Coetzer, Sara Errani, Flavia Pennetta and Venus Williams. Two players have won the singles and doubles in the same year - Anna-Lena Groenefeld in 2006 and Errani in 2012.

The event, which is held at the Fairmount Acapulco Princess luxury hotel on the Pacific Ocean, switched from its traditional clay surface to hardcourts in 2014. Acapulco came into prominence in the 1950s as a getaway for Hollywood stars and wealthy tourists. The city's beaches and nightlife continue to attract vacationers to this day.

Past finals

In the men's singles, David Ferrer (2010-2012, 2015) and Thomas Muster (1993–1996) hold the record for most overall titles (four), and Muster has the record for most consecutive wins (four). On the women's side, Amanda Coetzer (2001, 2003), Flavia Pennetta (2005, 2008), Venus Williams (2009–10) and Sara Errani (2012–13) co-hold the record for most singles titles (two), Williams and Errani being the only players to score two straight wins in Mexico. In the men's doubles, Donald Johnson (1996, 2000–01) has won the most titles (three), and co-holds with Michal Mertiňák (2008–09) and David Marrero (2012–13) the record for most back-to-back titles (two). In the women's doubles, María José Martínez Sánchez (2001, 2008–09) is the one holding the most titles (three) and shares with Nuria Llagostera Vives (2008–09) the record for most consecutive wins (two).